2020 Annual General Meeting

Thank you to everyone who attended our Annual General Meeting on January 23rd.

Over fifty local residents, board members, council members, staff, conservation partners, and friends joined at the Douro-Dummer Municipal Office for Otonabee Conservation’s Annual General Meeting.

After unanimously passing the 2020 budget at the December 2019 Board Meeting, the focus for the AGM was to appoint the 2020 Chair and Vice Chair and members to the operating committees along with the appointment of an auditor, solicitor, and banker for The Authority.

Mayor of Selwyn Township, Andy Mitchell was once again appointed as Chair of the Otonabee Conservation Board of Directors, and Deptuty Mayor Sherry Senis was appointed as Vice-Chair of the Board.

Councillors Kim Zippel, Ryan Huntley, and Michael Metcalf were appointed to the Audit Committee.

After the official business meeting, CAO Dan Marinigh presented a year-in-review, highlighting major accomplishments of Otonabee Conservation’s 60th year. The keynote speaker, Carlotta James, then treated guests to a presentation about the Monarch Ultra.

Otonabee Conservation CAO, Dan Marinigh (left) with Monarch Ultra’s Carlotta James (centre) and Günther Schubert (right)

Carlotta shared her amazing journey with the Monarch Ultra, a 4,300 km ultra marathon from Peterborough to central Mexico that took over seven weeks to complete in the fall of 2019. The relay team followed the migratory journey of the endangered Monarch butterfly as a way to raise awareness of the plight of Monarchs and to inspire communities into conservation action.

After a presentation of the 2019 year-in-review by CAO, Dan Marinigh, members of the Otonabee Conservation Board of directors presented the 2019 Environmental Excellence Awards.

Congratulations to all Environmental Excellence Award winners. Thank you to our Board Members, members of council, watershed residents, and staff for supporting and celebrating conservation in action in the Otonabee Region watershed.

Environmental Excellence Award Winners

Environmental Excellence Award – Partnership
Awarded to Jim Moloney and Cathy Mitchell on behalf of Riverview Park & Zoo

Environmental Excellence Award – Conservationist
Awarded to Paul Yungblut

Environmental Excellence Award – Stewardship
Awarded to Megan Boyles on behalf of Peterborough Pollinators

Environmental Excellence Award – Business
Awarded to TD Canada Trust
(photo unavailable)

Thank you again to all who attended our Annual General Meeting. We look forward to another year of working together to make the Otonabee Region watershed a healthy natural environment where communities thrive.

For more information about our Board of Directors, agendas and meeting minutes for all board meetings, to find out how to get involved or make a delegation, please visit otonabeeconservation.com