2021 Annual General Meeting

Thank you to everyone who attended our Annual General Meeting on Thursday, January 21st.

Seventy local residents, board members, council members, staff, conservation partners, and friends joined online last week for the Otonabee Conservation Annual General Meeting.

View Otonabee Conservation’s 2021 AGM in full:

Annual Board of Directors Resolutions

After unanimously passing the 2020 budget at the December 2019 Board Meeting, the focus for the AGM was to appoint the 2020 Chair and Vice Chair and members to the operating committees along with the appointment of an auditor, solicitor, and banker for The Authority.

Mayor of Selwyn Township, Andy Mitchell was once again appointed as Chair of the Otonabee Conservation Board of Directors. Councillor Ryan Huntley or Cavan Monaghan Township was appointed as Vice-Chair of the Board.

Thank you to Deputy Mayor of Selwyn Township, Sherry Senis for 11 years of service as the Vice Chair of the Otonabee Conservation Board of Directors.

Board Members Joe Taylor, Ryan Huntley, and Kim Zippel were appointed to the Audit Committee.

Guest Speaker | David Crombie

Guest Speaker, Former Chair of the Ontario Greenbelt Council, David Crombie, then discussed how changes to the Conservation Authorities Act may impact our environmental future and how Conservation Authorities will have to pivot to protect Ontario’s watersheds. View Mr. Crombie’s presentation, below:

2020 Year in Review with CAO| Dan Marinigh

CAO Dan Marinigh presented a year-in-review, highlighting major accomplishments of Otonabee Conservation’s past year.

Watch Dan Marinigh’s 2020 Review on YouTube.

Environmental Excellence Awards

Members of the Otonabee Conservation Board of directors presented the 2020 Environmental Excellence Awards. Read about each award and the Awards Criteria.

Environmental Excellence Award Winners:

Individual Conservationist Award | Cameron Douglas, KPRDSB

Environmental Stewardship Award | Peterborough Trailbuilders Association, presented to the Chair, Gordon Wilson

Conservation Partnership Award | Ian Boland, City of Peterborough

Business Award | Wild Rock Outfitters, presented to owner, Scott Murison

Read more about each award winner on our 2021 Environmental Excellence Awards page, or watch the presentation of the Environmental Excellence Awards and our Staff Recognition Awards on YouTube.

Staff Awards

Gordon Earle |Water Resources Technologist | 20 years
Donald Allin | Planning & Development Officer|5 years
Lori Moloney | Administrative Assistant, Plan Review and Permitting Services | 5 years
Jessie James  | Manager, Conservation Lands Program |5 years

Congratulations to all Environmental Excellence Award Winners and to our staff members who are celebrating service recognition awards.

Thank you to our Board Members, members of council, watershed residents, and staff for supporting and celebrating conservation in action in the Otonabee Region watershed.