Skip to main content Skip to footer

Conservation Pioneers and Leaders

The Latornell Conservation Symposium awards people who have made a major contribution to the conservation movement in Ontario. Recipients are recognized for their innovation, leadership, and dedication to conservation.

Conservation Pioneer Award Recipient 1999

Christine Nornabell (1913 - 2007)

Conservation Ontario presented Christine Nornabell the Conservation Pioneer Award in 1999. She was the first woman to receive that award.

In 1953 Christine organized the first public meeting in Peterborough to explore ways to beautify and preserve the banks of the Otonabee River and Jackson Creek. She was appointed to the City of Peterborough’s first Parks Board in 1959. During that time, the group had also started investigating the Conservation Authorities program.

In 1959, Christine was elected Chair at the first meeting of the Otonabee Valley Conservation Authority. She held that position until 1971.

In 1968 Christine organized the formation of the Otonabee Region Conservation Foundation. Christine was Chair of the Foundation from 1972 to 1986 and remained on the Board until 1992.

Conservation Pioneer Award Recipient 2002

Hal Hooke (1939 - 2013)

In 2002, Conservation Ontario presented Hal Hooke, former General Manager of the Otonabee Region Conservation Authority, with the Conservation Pioneer Award.

Hal worked with several Conservation Authorities including the Lower Thames, Catfish, Saugeen, Ausable and Maitland before taking the position of General Manager at Otonabee Conservation.

Hal guided the Authority in its advancements in conservation through programs and services such as tree planting and forest management, flood and erosion control, floodplain management, wetland conservation, recreation, and outdoor education.

Conservation Pioneer Award Recipient 2003

Ronald Scott (1941 - 2023)

Conservation Ontario presented the 2003 Conservation Pioneer Award to Ron Scott in recognition of his 21 years of service to conservation.

Ron was a member of the Otonabee Region Conservation Authority Board  from 1986 to 1992 and Chair of the Otonabee Conservation Foundation form 1999 to 2006. Ron established and organized the activities of the Norwood Young Conservationists Club.

Latornell Leadership Award Recipient 2016

Richard (Dick) Hunter

Richard Hunter’s 37-year career began with Ontario’s Junior Conservationist program in 1968. He went on to work with two Conservation Authorities and five Ministry of Natural Resources Regional Offices.

Shortly after the Walkerton tragedy in 2000 Richard became the General Manager of Conservation Ontario. One of his most significant accomplishments was the strong leadership role he played in the development of the Drinking Water Source Protection Program.

Subscribe to our News

Stay up to date on Otonabee Conservation's activities, events, programs and operations by subscribing to our News.

This website uses cookies to enhance usability and provide you with a more personal experience. By using this website, you agree to our use of cookies as explained in our Privacy Policy.